Van Dijk, Messi and Ronaldo vie for UEFA Player of the Year award

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Virgil Van Dijk have been shortlisted for the UEFA Player of the Year award, the sport's European governing body said on Thursday.

El argentino Leo Messi, el portugués Crisitano Ronaldo y el holandés Virigl van Dijk

El argentino Leo Messi, el portugués Crisitano Ronaldo y el holandés Virigl van Dijk. EFE

Reuters | Rohith Nair

Listen to this article

Leer en español: Van Dijk, Messi y Ronaldo compiten por el premio al Jugador del Año de la UEFA

While Ronaldo, a three-time winner, has been ever-present in the final three since the award was created in 2011, centre back Van Dijk makes his first appearance after helping Liverpool win the Champions League title last season.


Una publicación compartida de Virgil van Dijk (@virgilvandijk) el

Van Dijk was voted both the Premier League Player of the Season and the Players' Player of the Year and was instrumental in the Merseyside club's sixth European Cup triumph.

Two-time award winner Messi was the leading scorer in both La Liga (36 goals) and the Champions League (12 goals) last season but his Barcelona side fell in the semi-final stage to Liverpool, who overcame a three-goal deficit in the second leg to advance.


Una publicación compartida de Leo Messi (@leomessi) el

Ronaldo, who has won five Champions League titles, did not fare too well in Europe in his debut season with Juventus, the Italian side losing in the quarter-finals to Ajax Amsterdam.

However, he helped Juve seal their eighth successive league title with 21 goals and was voted the Serie A's 'Most Valuable Player'.

Also read: Soccer players on the bench ... of the accused 

Una publicación compartida de Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) el

For the women's award, treble-winners Olympique Lyonnais made it a clean sweep with striker Ada Hegerberg, right-back Lucy Bronze and midfielder Amandine Henry shortlisted. Hegerberg was the first recipient of the women's Ballon d'Or last year.

The awards will be presented during the Champions League group stage draw ceremony in Monaco on Thursday, Aug. 29.

More Articles
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…