The curiosities left by the Champions League after the Liverpool title

Listen to this article

In LatinAmerican Post we review the distribution of titles in the maximum European club tournament, as well as some other details of interest

The curiosities left by the Champions League after the Liverpool title

After the triumph of Liverpool in the Champions League 2018-19, the sixth in its history and the number 13 for its country England, it is a good time to take stock of the titles by countries and some curiosities that the tournament leaves more important and more seen from clubs in the world.

Leer en español: Las curiosidades que dejó la Champions League luego del título del Liverpool

Currently, Spain leads the most winning nation of 'La Orejona' with 18 trophies, thanks to the overwhelming dominance they had between 2014 and 2018 with five titles in a row, four for Real Madrid and one for Barcelona. In fact, Liverpool-Tottenham was the first final in which a Spanish did not appear, since 2013 when they played Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund.

Tottenham is the last team to reach the European Cup for the first time. Coincidentally, the two previous ones were English: Chelsea (2008) and Arsenal (2006). Goal.com recalls that before, between 1955 and 1991, the competition was called the European Cup (37 first editions) and that it was from the 1992-1993 season that it was called the UEFA Champions League in the edition in which France won its only title so far, with Olympique Marseille beating AC Milan in the final.

Read also: The 7 finals that Klopp lost before winning the Champions League

Fox Sports points out a curious fact, and that is that France, which integrates with its Ligue 1 the top 5 European domestic competitions and therefore the world, has just won a single Champions League, a very low and striking figure, especially because leagues today despised but in the past had relevance as Holland and Portugal, have achieved more pennants.

Holland, for example, has won the tournament six times, with Ajax Amsterdam as its main representative with four cups, plus one for Feyenoord and PSV. In 1995 the Dutch won for the last time. In the case of Portugal, there are four conquests, distributing in two for Porto and another pair for Benfica, the two most important clubs in this league. The last was in 2004 when Porto thrashed Monaco 3-0 in the final.

After the title of Olympique de Marseille in 1993, that of AS Monaco was the last time in the last 20 years in which the French country was close to be titled. His other finalists were the Stade de Reims and the Saint-Etienne in the first stage of the competition, Fox Sports finished.

The redemption of England

As.com, reveals that England finally manages to dominate the old continent fully (Chelsea and Arsenal played the final of the Europa League) after several years exhibiting financial muscle that was only reflected in the competitive Premier League. Spain between 2004 and 2018 was awarded 73% of the European titles in play (22 of 30) distributed seven of ten 'orejonas' Madrid (4) and Barça (3), six of ten Europa Leagues (Atlético and Sevilla (3) and nine of ten European Super Cups.

Since 1984, 35 years, the English league did not place four semifinalists in unison in Europe, with the difference that this time, the four reached the decisive game. Seven years without seeing light in the Champions League until the 'Reds' ended the slump they brought since 2012 when the champion was Chelsea. In 2017 it had been his last Europa League title with Manchester United, penalties two years before Chelsea won in 2019.

The five previous titles of the 'Reds' are distributed as follows, in 1977 against Borussia Monchengladbach 3-1, 1978 against Brugge 1-0, Real Madrid in 1981 1-0, Rome in the Italian capital in 1984 and Milan in Istanbul 3-3 and 4-2 on penalties, in 2005, closed As.


Una publicación compartida por Liverpool Football Club (@liverpoolfc) el

Titles by clubs

El Heraldo reported the list of winning clubs from highest to lowest, where of course highlights Real Madrid, as the highest winner with 13. He also adds that, with the title of Liverpool, England came out of the tie with Italy and now has 13 pennants for 12 of the Transalpine.

Real Madrid has 13, then with 7 Milan, Liverpool is third with 6, fourth place Bayern Munich and FC Barcelona with 5, then Ajax Amsterdam appears with 4, and close the list of best Inter Milan and Manchester United with 3 each.

However, England is the country that has more teams that have won the competition, a total of 4, while Italy, Germany and the Netherlands have 3, and Spain only two. The list of clubs that have only won the trophy once is long: Aston Villa (1982), Chelsea (2012), Hamburg (1983) and Borussia Dortmund (1997), Feyenoord (1970) and PSV Eindhoven (1988), Olympique Marseille (1993 and only title of France by surprising that it seems) and Steaua Bucharest of Rumania in 1986.


LatinAmerican Post | Onofre Zambrano

Translated from "Las curiosidades que dejó la Champions League luego del título del Liverpool"

More Articles
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…