Six Nations: 4 Keys to Start Watching Rugby

Do you want to start watching rugby? Here we tell you what you need to know


Photo: Unplash

LatinAmerican Post | Juan Manuel Londoño

Rugby is a sport that is gaining popularity in Latin America and there is no better time than now, when the Six Nations tournament is being played, to start delving into the hobby. That is why below we bring you four things you should know to start watching rugby.

1. The Major Leagues

There are four national professional rugby ​​union leagues (the 15-player version) around the world. There's the Aviva Premiership (England), the Top 14 (France), the Pro 12 (Wales, Ireland, Scotland, and Italy), and the Super 15 (New Zealand, Australia, and the Pacific Islands).

In international rugby, there are two main annual competitions, the Six Nations and the Rugby Championship. The Six Nations is between Ireland, Wales (current champions), England, Scotland, France, and Italy. Each team plays against everyone once and the team with the most points wins. Occasionally a team will win all of their games, this is known as a Grand Slam.

2. Know the basic rules

Teams have 15 players each. They can't pass the ball forward, but they can kick it forward. The game has 2 parts of 40 minutes and the clock stops when the ball is out of play, so there is no "injury time" as in football.

The object is to ground the ball into the opponent's "end zone" to score a try (5 points). After a try, the scoring team has the opportunity to kick the ball through the posts for an additional 2 points, the kicking player is often the one with the 10 on their back, but it can be anyone. The other team must prevent the opposing side from overstepping their line by tackling and/or trying to gain possession of the ball.

3. These are the most important positions

In rugby, there are 8 forwards and 7 defenders, for a total of 15 players. The forwards dispute the "scrum" (a power struggle between both teams for possession of the ball) and throw-ins. Forwards are the “front line” of defense and offense trying to protect the ball. For their part, the defenses are responsible for executing the plays to score. They are the fastest players and often the most creative.

4. What teams to watch in the Six Nations?

The Six Nations is the most prestigious tournament in the sport and therefore the best way to start watching rugby. However, not all computers are created equal. England and Wales have historically been the best teams. England has won the championship 29 times and Wales 28. On the other hand, Italy has never won in the history of the event and Scotland has not won since 2000. With this, you can get an idea of ​​which matches are worth watching.

If you want to see other international tournaments after the Six Nations, following the route of the New Zealand team is a good idea, since this country is considered the best in rugby worldwide.