NFL: this is what the preseason left

Officially the NFL preseason is over. However, that does not mean that we are going to run out of football for a long time, since the start of the 100th season will begin on Thursday, September 5; when the Wisconsin Packers face the Chicago Bears.

Football player catching a ball during the match.

Football player catching a ball during the match. / Reference image / Pexels

LatinAmerican Post | Laura Viviana Guevara

Listen to this article

Leer en español: NFL: Esto fue lo que dejó la pretemporada

However, according to the Daily News, the season is usually considered a joke, because "it is football without meat for the same price as the original." Even so, the great teams prefer to put on the field the university players, reserving the holders for the games of the official season. Those who participate, play their last chance to have a place in the final squad or at least in the practice squad, according to Vavel.

In this way, the pre-season controversy left the Ravens with a good run, as it is the fourth preseason that ends with numbers in their favor. In fact, his last game against the Redskins was the 17th game to have won consecutively. In addition, and according to Vavel, the Baltimore natives have not proved defeat before the regular season since 2015.

In addition to the Ravens, the Bills and the Giants had a perfect season. Those who almost succeeded but ended up in the last game of the preseason were the Pittsburgh Steelers; who came undefeated and fell to the Carolina Panthers 25-19. The Panthers reacted until the last period, and with four minutes left to finish the game, they managed to get away from the Steelers by nine points in the middle of two plays made by Taylor Heincke.

The controversies in the preseason

Even if it was in the preseason, the scandals did not stop. One of the most annoying players was the change in the design of the protective helmet. The NFL, committed to the safety and physical integrity of the players, removed at least eleven helmet models; and therefore getting used to a new one was not an easy task.

For the players Antonio Brown, of the Oakland Raiders and Tom Brady of the New England Patriots, the annoyance jumped into the media, as the first announced to retire if he was not allowed to continue wearing the helmet of his preference, something that the NFL rejected completely. Meanwhile, Brady said the new model was obstructing his field of vision, making it difficult to catch the ball. However, both players had to abide by the rules and change their traditional helmets.


Una publicación compartida por Tom Brady (@tombrady) el

On the other hand, quarterback Andrew Luck announced his retirement at the end of the preseason. According to a letter written by Luck and who decided to publish it in the Indy Star newspaper, the main reasons for his retirement are injuries. He also expressed his gratitude to the followers of the Indianapolis Colts, “Thank you for eight incredible years. For helping me grow on and off the field, it has been the honor of life to represent the Colts and the city of Indianapolis on the world stage. "

Read also: These are the 10 new NFL signings

What is coming in season 100

It should be remembered that in the NFL it is made up of the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC). According to Sawakinome, “each conference has 16 teams in the United States, four in each division (North, South, East, West). The six best teams in both conferences (division leaders and two wild card teams) play with each other, and the last unbeaten team in each conference plays in the Super Bowl.”

On the side of the NFC South, and who currently has the best teams, because according to Hiptoro any team in this division of American football could beat any opposing team. Both Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Saints, Falcons, and Panthers could have an opportunity to demonstrate their potential.

As for the NFC this, the Cowboys and Eagles dispute for the division title in a come and go. The NFC West, and according to the same medium, the Rams, despite losing to the Patriots, led most of the games of the previous season. In this division, the team could be found to turn the playoffs and even the Super Bowl 2020.

Finally, in the North NFC, the Bears are seen as the preferential candidates to be leaders in this division, including being considered the finalists of next year's Super Bowl.

As for the AFC, for the northern division it is expected that the Cleveland Browns may be the winner, something that has not been allowed in several years, but with the arrival of the players Baker Mayfield, Odell Beckham Jr. and Myles Garrett, It can be changed.

By the AFC south division, and similar to the NFC west; Both the Houston Texas and the Indianapolis Colts took the title of this division, so it would not be a surprise if either of these two teams comes back with a new title.

As for the AFC west, and according to Hiptoro, "it is the only division with two teams that give each other the same competition." In this way, the title dispute between the Kansas City Chiefs and Los Angeles Chargers will be interesting and we will definitely have to keep an eye on these two teams.

Finally, there is the AFC East, led by the Patriots who will defend their dynasty by layer and sword, because only within their division have they won for 10 consecutive years, allowing them to play eleven Super Bowls; of which they have won six.

More Articles
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…