SAG Awards: The Actors and Actresses Who Have Won the Screen Actors Guild award the most

The SAG Awards are responsible for recognizing the main performances of the actors and actresses members of the Union. Which are the most prominent in history?

Photos: Flickr-Jaguar MENA,

LatinAmerican Post | Yolanda González Madrid

Since its inception in 1995, the Screen Actors Guild Awards have aimed to reward excellence in film and television to actors and actresses in different categories. In addition, it is one of the main film events of the year in Hollywood. This 2022 will be the 28th edition and among the peculiarities are the nominations for the first time of two South Korean figures: actor Lee Jung-jae and actress Hoyeon Jung, both for the series "The Squid Game".

Likewise, we cannot fail to mention the Latin American presence that will be in charge of Oscar Isaac in the category “Best actor in miniseries” for "Secretos de un Marrimonio". And it is that the last two times that Latin America was represented at the SAG Awards were in 2011 with the Venezuelan Édgar Ramírez and in 2013 with the Colombian Sofía Vergara. Will the Guatemalan actor be able to get the award?

The most outstanding actors and actresses in cinema

As is well known, the two main categories of cinema are aimed at the leading actor and actress in a production. At this point, the now-retired Daniel Day-Lewis stands out above the rest, who is the most successful winner with three SAG Awards thanks to his performances in "Lincoln" (2013), "There Will be Blood" (2008) and "Gangs of New York" (2003).

For their part, things look closer when it comes to actresses, as there is a triple tie. Viola Davis is the current winner in this category, triumphing in 2021 for "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom", while in 2012 she added her first prize for "The Help". Likewise, Frances McDormand ("Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" [2017] and "Fargo" [1996]) and Renée Zellweger ("Judy" [2019] and "Chicago" [2002]) also appear with two statuettes.

The cast category is not far behind and this figure is becoming more and more important. As for the actors, Mahershala Ali has made an impact with his performances to the point of being awarded two SAG Awards for "Green Book" (2018) and "Moonlight" (2016). In turn, Kate Winslet shines on the side of actresses with two awards for "The Reader" (2008) and "Sense and Sensibility" (1995).

On television...

If there is a word that defines the SAG Awards when we go to the field of television is parity. Here, actors and actresses face each other in three different fields: drama, comedy and miniseries. Of course, the exceptions also have their space and that has made the prizes more attractive. In the end, it all comes down to healthy competition between colleagues.

As for the drama actors, the list is extensive and is partly due to the great productions in which they participated. Tied with two awards are Jason Bateman for "Ozark" (2021 and 2019), Kevin Spacey for "House of Cards" (2016 and 2015), Bryan Cranston for "Breaking Bad" (2014 and 2013), Steve Buscemi for "Boardwalk Empire" (2012 and 2011), Hugh Laurie for "Dr. House" (2009 and 2007), Kiefer Sutherland for "24" (2006 and 2004), Martin Sheen for "The West Wing" (2002 and 2001), Dennis Franz for "NYPD Blue" (1995 and 1997) and Anthony Edwards for "ER" (1996 and 1998).

Also read: Oscars 2022: The unfulfilled promises of "Dune"

With the drama actress category the trend is minimally marked. In addition to being the most nominated with 9, Julianna Margulies leads with 4 Guild Awards for her performances in "ER" (1998 and 1999) and "The Good Wife" (2010 and 2011). It is worth mentioning that they are closely followed by 3 Edie Falco for "The Sopranos" (2000, 2003 and 2008), as well as the current winner: Gillian Anderson in "The Crown" (2021) and "The X Files" (1996 and 1997).

On the other hand, there is a record in the comedy series and a fierce struggle between two queens of the genre. Actor Alec Baldwin has won the statuette for 7 consecutive years (from 2007 to 2013) thanks to his character as Jack Donaghy in the series "30 Rock", a milestone that has overshadowed other colleagues. Likewise, actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus is the pioneer of comedy by winning 5 SAG Awards for "Veep" (2018, 2017 and 2014) and "Seinfeld" (1998 and 1997), thus surpassing Tina Fey by a minimum.

Finally, the miniseries tend to have greater variety year after year, so that both actors and actresses have not passed -for now- two awards. The list includes Al Pacino in "You don't Know Jack" (2011) and "Angels in America" ​​(2004), Paul Giamatti for "Too Big to Fail" (2012) and "John Adams" (2009), Mark Ruffalo in "I Know This Much is True" (2021) and "The Normal Heart" (2015), Queen Latifah for "Bessie" (2016) and "Life Support" (2008), Helen Mirren in "Phil Spector" (2014 ) and "Elizabeth I" (2007), and Alfre Woodard for "Miss Evers' Boys" (1998) and "The Piano Lesson" (1996).