How To Interpret the Signs of Affection From Your Loved Ones

Knowing the love language of your partner, family, and friends will help you express and receive affection in a more fulfilling way.

The Woman Post | Carolina Rodríguez Monclou

Listen to this article

According to counselor Gary Chapman, we each have a specific language for giving and receiving love. In his widely popular book, "The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts," the author explains which type of love language each person appreciates. The Woman Post brings you all of them in detail.

Some couples deeply care for each other but feel unloved because they don't speak the same love languages. To avoid this kind of situation, first, you must understand your own primary love language. Then you have to seek to understand the love language of your loved ones so that you can treat them accordingly and make sure that they feel truly loved. Here are the five types of love languages, according to Gary Chapman.

1. Words of Affirmation

If verbal compliments and words of appreciation make you happier than ever, "words of affirmation" are your love language. Affective words like "I love you" and the reason behind them are highly appreciated by this kind of people. On the other hand, insults, criticism, and hurtful words could deeply affect those who have this type of love language. Giving some words of encouragement and appreciation will make the biggest difference.

2. Acts of Service

Those whose love language is "acts of service" appreciate more doing things for the people they love and receiving things specially made for them from their loved ones. Actions like cooking, washing the dishes, or cleaning the house could be an example of love language for this person. On the other hand, breaking commitments, laziness, and giving them more things to do could cause the opposite effect. If you know someone who will appreciate this act of service, prepare something you're sure they will love or help them out with something.

3. Receiving Gifts

This love language shouldn't be mistaken for materialism. More than the present itself, those with the "receiving gifts" love language sincerely appreciate the thoughtfulness and the effort behind that gift. Details could be a perfect gesture to express that you care enough for them to get them something. Missing a birthday, anniversary, or not receiving anything on a special occasion could disappoint these gift lovers. You can pay close attention when they say they like something and give it to them when the perfect moment comes.

4. Quality Time

This kind of person associates loves with full and undivided attention. Being there for this person (without your cellphone or any distractions) is truly important to them. Being fully present makes this person feel appreciated and genuinely loved. Postpone dates, distractions, and not listening to them can make them very sad. You can ask your loved one what activity they would enjoy doing with you, then set a date and make sure to avoid all distractions to enjoy your time together truly.


5. Physical Touch

For this person, physical contact and touching others is very natural. Hugs, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the face, arm, or shoulder can be great to show that you love and care for this person. On the other hand, abuse and neglect can be very damaging for this person. If your loved one speaks this language, try touching their arm while talking or placing your hand on them affectionately.

Now that you know your love language and the love language of others, make sure to be especially careful and highly consider their feelings when you are interacting with them. You can also let them know, especially your partner, which act of love makes you the happiest.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button