These are the South American football champions

Listen this article


The Copa Libertadores 2019 begins! These are the teams from South America that won in their countries

These are the South American football champions

LatinAmerican Post reviews the different champions of the South American leagues, teams that will participate in the Copa Libertadores starting in February 2019.

On December 5, it was played at the Agustin Tovar Stadium "La Carolina" of Barinas, the second match in the Venezuelan national soccer between the Zamora Football Club and Deportivo Lara, being Zamora the champion. Antonio Romero, who was loaned by Lara to Zamora, was in charge of scoring the first three goals of the game in the minutes 5', 25' and 57'. At minute 90 ', Ángel Osorio scored another goal to close the match with a score of 4-0.

Leer en español: Estos son los campeones del fútbol sudamericano

The overall score was five goals in favor of Zamora and one of Lara. The Zamora managed to get its fourth star, after crowned champion of the first division in the seasons 2012, 2013 and 2016, which shows the high performance that the team has had in recent years. According to Primicia, Romero declared: "we came to leave this star here, celebrate with our fans. I thank God for playing here in my homeland, in this team where I wanted to play as a child. "


In Bolivia, the current champion of the Apertura 2018 tournament is the Jorge Wilstermann Sports Club. In June, the final against the Club the Strongest was played.

After the first match, The Strongest defeated Wilstermann 2 goals by 1, and in the return, Wilstermann beat them exactly the same, for which a third match was played in a neutral venue. In the tiebreaker game the excitement was not lacking and after being in a 2-2 draw, it was defined in penalty shootout where finally Jorge Wilstermann was crowned as tournament champion.


Club Atlético Boca Juniors managed to stay with the championship in the Argentina Superliga 2017/18, mid-year. According to Besoccer, after drawing two goals against Gimnasia La Plata, it managed to overcome Godoy Cruz mathematically to obtain its 33rd title in the league.


On December 2, the Catholic University was crowned First Division champion in Chilean soccer, to obtain its 13th star. Its victory was against Deportes Temuco after scoring two goals, by Jaime Carreño and Andrés Vilches.


Maybe you're interested in reading: 10 times champion! This was the way to the Palmeiras title in Brazil


Deportes Tolima was crowned champion of the Liga Águila I 2018, after defeating Atlético Nacional in penalty kicks at the Atanasio Girardot stadium. The second part of the year, Junior of Barranquilla won after prevailing in the global one by 5-4 to Deportivo Independent Medellín (DIM).

The Junior of Barranquilla, on December 16, won the victory in Liga Águila II 2018, against Independiente de Medellín. Despite losing in the return match 1 goal by 3, the overall score favored them 5-4 to reach their eighth star in professional football.


After defeating Guaraní 4-1, Olimpia was crowned Champion of the Clausura 2018 Tournament with two matches remaining to complete the tournament, according to Polideportes, and was also crowned champion of the 2018 Apertura Tournament, becoming the two-time champion of Paraguay.


The Athletic Club Peñarol won the championship of the Uruguayan League of First Division 2018, the president of FIFA sent them their congratulations according to a note of 90min "I am very pleased to convey my congratulations to Club Atlético Peñarol on the occasion of its second title consecutive!".


It was crowned champion of the Brazilian Serie A Championship 2018, the SE Palmeiras on November 25, after overcoming 1-0 to Vasco de Gama in the penultimate round of all against all.

The distribution for the next edition of the Copa Libertadores includes, of course, the current champion -River Plate of Argentina- and the champion of the Copa Sudamericana 2018 -Atlético Paranaense de Brasil-. The country with the most quotas is Brazil with 7, then Argentina with 6, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela have 4 positions within the competition.


LatinAmerican Post | Daniela Escalante

Translated from "Estos son los campeones del fútbol sudamericano"



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button